Time Management

Standard

What I struggle most with is time management. I get to the end of each day feeling like I’ve achieved little and wondering where the time went. A couple of years ago I went down to working two and a half days a week, thinking it would improve my work-life balance. It has, to a point. I am no longer so tired on my days off that I don’t have the energy to do anything, but am still left feeling scattered. 

I think I am guilty of trying to do too much, and achieving too little. I’m always trying new things, new hobbies, but feel I don’t stick at things. Am I looking for sense gratification? Probably. I take too much on, too many commitments. But maybe this is my obsession with ‘achieving’. Maybe it’s ok to try things, just for the experience of trying them, without a need to ‘achieve’ anything.

I struggle to maintain a regular asana / pranayama / meditation practice. Partly because having a 7yr old who doesn’t play on her own much in the house does not always make for ideal conditions, interruptions, etc. The other part is because I live in a small two-bedroom flat – if I want to do yoga, I have to do it in the lounge due to lack of space, and if everyone else wants to eat their breakfast then that’s not ideal either. In a few weeks we are moving to a much larger house, I could even have a whole room dedicated to yoga. I look forward to that. But then I shall have no excuses.

When I d have time, another issue is that of eating. If I have the luxury of practising asanas in the morning (which I prefer), then I can have a strong coffee and get going. If I practice later in the day, the issue of how long since the last meal becomes an issue. If it’s a work day, then I’m always famished when I come in, and it’s hard to find the right-sized snack. Ah, but I procrastinate…

Leave a Reply

