Yoga Sutras of Patanjali 1.22


For those with intense practices and intense conviction, there are three more subdivisions of practice, those of mild intensity, medium intensity, and intense intensity.

There are differences between those who are mild, average and keen in their practices.

The previous sutra outlined 9 possible combinations of conviction and time available to devote to practice. This sutra adds levels of intensity to that. Rather than getting hung up on all of the possible permutations, suffice it to say that these two sutras are saying that yoga practice is available to everyone, regardless of your level of conviction, your intensity, and the time you have available. Anyone can do it, at any level. As Sri K. Pattabhi Jois said:

Practice, and all is coming.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s