Yoga sutras of Patanjali 1.46


Each of the above kinds of samadhi are sabja (with seed), which could bring one back into bondage or mental disturbance.

These four varieties of engrossment are the only kinds of concentrations (samadhi) which are objective, and have a seed of an object.

These four samadhis or meditations on an object (with gross thoughts, without gross thoughts, with subtle thoughts and without subtle thoughts) still do not take us to the final goal. The seed of desire still remains, because the mind has not been totally purified.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s