The ‘eight limbs’ refers to the system in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras. The eight limbs are demonstrated nicely in the diagram below:

8limbs2Image courtesy of Alison Hinks

The Yamas and Niyamas are a bit like the Ten Commandments of yoga, and they form the first tier of limbs. The second tier is asana and pranayama, physical yoga poses and breathing exercises respectively. The third tier is more meditation-focused.

This blog is my journey through this system, and the challenges it poses in the modern world.



One response »

  1. Pingback: Yoga Sutras of Patanjali 1.3 | Eight limbed life

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s